Uncategorized

A Cornish Christmas Carol by Liz Fenwick

liz-cover

A Cornish Christmas Carol

by

Liz Fenwick

Joy to the world? Not if Abigail Scorrier has anything to do with it. She’s spent most of her adult life trying to avoid the festive frenzy. She loved Christmas as a child in Cornwall: the colourful stockings hanging above a crackling fire, the excitement of what will be waiting for her the next morning. But ever since her life took a heart-breaking turn, she’s buried those memories and done everything she can to avoid her past, her family and most of all, the Christmas season.
But on Christmas Eve, Abigail will have three visitors she can’t ignore, and what they reveal about her past, present and future might just change her life – and mend her heart…

I read this festive treat in one sitting curled up on the sofa, a packet of mince pies I bought especially for the occasion sitting forgotten on the table. Pulled into this warm modern-day retelling of the classic Dickens’ tale, I was engrossed from start to finish. Liz Fenwick has done it again – captured my imagination and made me smile with her distinctive narrative, lovely stories and incredible skill of painting such a honest picture of Cornwall in this fabulous book.

When cold heartless Abigail Scorrier is forced to return to her home county of Cornwall, she is fraught with old memories. Memories that drove her away from any sense of kindness and love for the festive season many years ago. But as she relives those memories on the journey down to her old home, she is unaware that soon she will be visited by three ghosts – past, present and future.

A Duchy-dweller myself, I have to quickly say that I love how Liz Fenwick integrated the beauty of Cornwall so seamlessly into this festive delight. A few times through-out reading this, I found myself smiling, recognising places and names and location descriptions that are so familiar. This book is a brilliant read for Christmas. Perfect for all – especially for lovers of Cornwall. I thoroughly recommend reading this, perhaps with a mince pie and glass of mulled wine.

This is a warm, engrossing tale that pulls at your heartstrings and reminds us of what Christmas is truly about. (I’d just like to give a round of applause to Liz Fenwick because keeping me engrossed enough to forget about mince pies is quite a feat.)

It’s nearly Christmas so I thought I’d finish up this review by quoting Liz: “Happy Christmas, one and all.’

If you’d like to read A Cornish Christmas Carol, you can buy it here

Leave a Reply

