Uncategorized

Good Me Bad Me by Ali Land

Good me bad me.jpg

Good Me Bad Me

by

Ali Land

‘NEW NAME .

NEW FAMILY.

SHINY.

NEW.

ME.’

Annie’s mother is a serial killer. The only way she can make it stop is to hand her in to the police.

But out of sight is not out of mind.

As her mother’s trial looms, the secrets of her past won’t let Annie sleep, even with a new foster family and name – Milly.

A fresh start. Now, surely, she can be whoever she wants to be.

But Milly’s mother is a serial killer. And blood is thicker than water.

Good me, bad me.

She is, after all, her mother’s daughter…

Review:

I first heard about Good Me Bad Me on Twitter. Ali Land’s agent, Juliet Mushens, was tweeting about it from The London Book Fair. It was then my initial intrigue was piqued. And it’s snowballed from there, really. Everything about it draws us in: the cover, the blurb, the title, everything, for me the components perfectly merging into a combination that is impossible to ignore.

You can probably imagine how I felt when I received my review copy ( huge, huge thank you to Michael Joseph by the way – I literally jumped for joy). When I first started reading Good Me Bad Me, I felt completely astounded, a small voice saying ‘This is amazing, this is amazing!’ over and over again for the first few pages. Ali Land’s refreshingly unique style of writing encapsulates us in the protagonist’s world, so much so, the characters become more ‘real’ than the people around us, and if that isn’t a sign of a well-written, engaging book, I don’t know what is.

When fifteen-year-old Milly Barnes hands her mother into the police, she goes to live with her new foster family, Mike, Saskia and their daughter Phoebe to hopefully take the first step into a new life and away from the darkness that resides in her past. But not everything walked away from is truly left behind. As she counts down the days until she will have to give evidence against her mother, a woman responsible for the deaths of nine children, Milly discovers that the darkness she thinks she can move on from, is not so far away.

Good Me Bad Me is a chilling, immersive read that will grab you and keep you glued to the pages. And something I really loved about it was that the ‘bad guy’ is a fifteen-year-old girl. And she is a spectacular ‘bad guy’. Frightening and creepy. Towards the end, I was so immersed, I found myself comfort eating while reading the last ten pages.

Ali’s writing style is stunning – refreshingly different. And it lends itself beautifully to the mind of a troubling young girl.

Ali Land has created something incredible here.

Disturbing. Original. Shocking. Tense.

If you would like to buy Good Me Bad Me, here is the link

Huge thanks to Michael Joseph for my review copy.

2 thoughts on “Good Me Bad Me by Ali Land”

Leave a Reply

