Uncategorized

The Burden of Truth Q&A (Blog Tour)

Welcome to my spot on The Burden of Truth blog tour today, alongside baattyaboutbooks. The Burden of Truth is written by Peter Best and published by Bloodhound Books.

Burden of truth

 

 

 

 

Here is the blurb for the book:

Egocentric Brent Sandler knows he needs to change his life for the better. He’s hit rock bottom, penniless and in deep trouble as he discovers an awful tragedy lying in wait. The problem is, he knows this tragedy is all down to him and his past actions. Now he’s determined to put things right as the consequences of these actions are rapidly making their mark.

Meanwhile in Bodhgaya India, Peter Cannon has just made a shocking discovery that will change his life forever. Like Brent, he must come to terms with his guilt. But his past, his secret and the woman he loves are slowly hunting him down.

And if they find him, questions will be asked.

The tale of The Burden of Truth is a suspenseful thriller of how these two men are pulled apart and then drawn together as each man tries to fulfil his own quest for happiness. But they are soon to find out this quest is thwart with love, as well as danger, and both are lurking just around the corner.

As part of the blog tour today, I have a fabulous Q&A from author, Peter Best. I’d just like to say a massive thank you to Peter for being on my blog today. And without further ado, here is the Q&A:

 

 

 

What was the inspiration behind The Burden of Truth?

There were many things, which give me the inspiration to write The Burden of Truth. However, if I were to pick out one, I would say it was when I visited a Buddhist Monastery hidden away in the hills In Sri Lanka. It really was a fantastic place to be, and very beautiful and calming.

Now, I should say, at this time the decision had already been made to write a book, but everything was still in the very early stages.

At the time, I was juggling some ideas in my head, but not entirely happy with what I had. I knew it was going to be a thriller of sorts, but I wanted something more than someone having a quest, and at the end of the story, that person having completed it. When I thought about it, I wanted the story to have a real, deep meaning. And it was at this monastery, where I was explained one of the Buddha’s first teachings, the teaching of karma. And there it was. I knew just then what the theme of my book was going to be. Not just karma, mind you, but a whole lot more of what the Buddha said, all those years ago.

Have you always wanted to be a writer?

To be honest, I’ve always had a great interest in writing, ever since my English teacher said I had a vibrant pen. So even though I’ve been writing bits and bobs for years, I’ve never wanted to write a novel. I always thought it was just that too big of a task, even though my friends and family always encouraged it. However, some time back I was working in York and started talking to a group of writers, who met every month. It was after talking to them, and realising just how much they all enjoyed writing, along with the benefits it brought them, I decided to go for it and make a start.

If you could have written any other book what would it be?

When I think about this, I would say, Dan Brown’s novel, The Da Vinci Code. Not because it was a great success, more because of the research I would have done to before I had even started. One of the great things I love about writing is the actually research that goes into it. I guess, I just love learning new, interesting things.

Do you have any advice for budding authors?

Aim high, as in very, very high. Don’t just set of on your journey thinking, I’m going to write a book. Think I’m going to write a book, that’s better than anything out there. Pick the genre you want to write in and then try to be right at the very top.

Of course this may not happen, and I certainly don’t think it’s happened to me. But I do think it’s a policy every writer should have.

Who are your favourite authors?

I would say Stieg Larsson, as well as Jo Nesbo, would be up there amongst my favourites. Purely for writing styles and plots. Loved, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, by the way.

How long did it take you to write The Burden of Truth?

The Burden of Truth took an awful long time to write. If I were to be honest I first put pen to paper more than five years ago. I first had the idea, and knew which way the plot was going to go, and completed the first draft. However, it didn’t take me long to realise what I had was not going to be good enough in today’s market. It really did need a lot more.

It took me three and a half years to mould this first draft into what the book is today. I know this is a long time, but I’m so pleased I did it though.

Are you working on a new novel now?

Absolutely. I’m working on two projects at the moment. The first being, the follow up to The Burden of Truth. This is going to be set in Austria and France. The second project is also a thriller, set in New York sometime in the sixties. I’m really enjoying this one, and it’s coming along great.

In three words, can you describe The Burden of Truth?

In three words, certainly, Thoughtful. Dramatic would be in there as well, and the last one, Suspenseful.


Thoughtful. Dramatic. suspenseful.

I don’t think you can get a better combination! Wow!

About Peter Best:

Peter Best was born in North Shields in the North East of England in the beginning of the sixties. Albeit the son of a shipyard worker, Peter was brought up in a mining community until the age of eight when for some reason or another somebody made the decision that the community should be uprooted and moved to a place called Cramlington New Town on the outskirts of Newcastle.

After his time in school he served an apprenticeship working mainly on building sites working as an electrician, which he hated by the way! However, as Peter always looks on the positive side of things, he was pleased he did, as it was on these building sites where he came across many different characters who he was pleased to call his friends. “Real people,” he called them. And so it turned out that many of these so called real people, and others of course, featured quite strongly in his novels.

Of course it was not just the people he met on the sites; Peter has over the years come across many different characters on his travels who have all played their part in working their way into his mind.

In 1996 he married for the second time to a young German girl and soon after moved to the south of England. Soon after that he upped sticks again and moved to Wiesbaden in Germany to help support his wife as she pushed at her career as a doctor.

Peter feel in love with the culture of his new surroundings, especially the culture of one of his neighbouring counties Bavaria. However as they say all good things come to an end and he moved back to England. It was at this time when his writing started to come together. Over the next few years Peter started to string together his thoughts and ideas for The Burden of Truth and its sequel. (The name remains a secret for now.)

He now lives with his wife and daughter in a small seaside town in Essex called Frinton on Sea. Frinton, along with its neighbouring town, Walton on the Naze, both feature in his novel, The Burden of Truth.

burden of truth 2

Huge thanks to Helen at Bloodhound Books and once again to Peter Best for including me on the blog tour and for the wonderful Q&A!

 

Leave a Reply

