Uncategorized

Don’t Wake Up by Liz Lawler #Don’tWakeUp #Review #BlogTour #Q&A

I’m over the moon to be on this fantastic blog tour for Liz Lawler’s Don’t Wake Up. To conclude this awesome tour I have a fabulous Q&A with the author herself!

Don't Wake Up.jpg

Don’t Wake Up

By

Liz Lawler

Alex Taylor wakes up tied to an operating table.

The man who stands over her isn’t a doctor.

The choice he forces her to make is utterly unspeakable.

But when Alex re-awakens, she’s unharmed – and no one believes her horrifying story. Ostracised by her colleagues, her family and her partner, she begins to wonder if she really is losing her mind.

And then she meets the next victim.

My Review:

Don’t Wake Up is a fantastic psychological thriller. It moves along at a rapid pace and keeps us knee-deep in twists and turns. Not only does this book surprise and shock, it also proves to be quite addictive.

Doctor Alex Taylor awakes tied to an operating table in a hospital. And when a strange doctor gives her a single terrible choice, she is forced to choose between options that are as frightening as they are horrific.
Alex Tayor wakes again only this time, she is safe in the hands of a team of friends in her own hospital, having been found unconscious after a bump on the head. But with no signs of harm and only her word against a man – the doctor – who abducted and assaulted her, she is confronted with a life that is swiftly adopting a new and sinister form. Even as the bodies begin to fall, Alex fights to be believed but with no evidence to support her memory, she begins to question her own sanity.

This is not at all what I expected when I began reading. Oddly it wasn’t the first chapter that ‘hooked’ me, it was the second – when no evidence of the assault is found to have taken place. Was she dreaming? Is she ill as the police and her friends suspect? If not, who is his mysterious man?

The characters are well realised and I found myself being completely drawn into Alex’s life. Really enjoyed this novel!

Don’t wake up is an immersive and addictive read that keeps you on the edge of your seat until the shocking conclusion.

Shocking. Addictive. Mysterious.

If you would like to read Don’t Wake Up here is the link


And now here is the fantastic Q&A with author Liz Lawler! Thank you so much Liz for appearing on my blog!!

Liz Lawler.jpg

Can you tell us a little more about yourself and your path to publication?

I lead an extremely busy life and run from one day to the next in a whirlwind of activity. The reason for this is because I am always trying to get every day jobs out of the way before I can sit down and write. Occasionally I would like to clone myself and delegate my other selves to do all the serious stuff like cleaning, washing, cooking, doing my day job and being present in my real life. Tsk Tsk . . . Those pesky jobs do get in the way.
The path to this publication would never have happened if it wasn’t for my darling mum. She rang me one afternoon and said; Richard and Judy are running a competition. I told her that I’d done with writing and that I had a nice job. She told me in no uncertain terms, in her soft Irish accent, that I’d be a fool not to enter it. Little did I know that this would be one of our last conversations? She was buried on her 90th birthday. I returned home from the funeral with only days left till Christmas and with nothing prepared. While my family went out and bought a Christmas tree, I remembered our conversation and decided to take look at this competition – Richard and Judy searching for the next bestseller. I entered and was fortunate to be shortlisted. Six months later, Don’t Wake Up was languishing on my very faulty laptop when I received an email from a publisher asking if I’d got an agent or a publisher yet. No, was the answer. I hadn’t looked for one. He then told me how much he enjoyed it, and the need to write again – all of a sudden – woke up very hungry.

Do you have any writing rituals?

In my dreams I do. I dream that I wake each morning, head for the gym, run at least five miles, swim twenty lengths, dress as if for visitors, eat a healthy breakfast of fruit and then sit at my writer’s desk with a view of rolling hills and blue skies. In reality, I clean my teeth, splash my face and still pyjama-clad wander down the stairs for my first coffee. From there I then hit the couch with my laptop, where I sit for hours, only getting up for loo calls and more coffee and to let my very old and very deaf dog out for his loo calls, until I’ve written everything I can and am wrung out and boiling hot from having the laptop against me all day. I am not a pretty sight when I’m writing.

What was the inspiration behind Don’t Wake Up?

This is always going to be a difficult question to answer as no particular happening inspired this story. The fact that I worked in hospitals for so many years which gave me a very familiar setting may have been reason, but the storyline I think comes from a deeper place. Hearing, reading, seeing the atrocities we all see every day on the news inspires my mind – I have no doubt about that, and I think my imagination does the rest.

Have you always wanted to be an author?

No. Being an author was not something I ever imagined becoming. I wanted to be a policewoman – a detective – using my mind to work out who the baddie was. I lam fascinated by forensic science and study it as much as possible. My next favourite job would have been as a pathologist. My darling mum had me earmarked for nursing when I seventeen instead.

If you could have written any other book what would it be?

Gosh! There are so many books to choose from. I’m going to pick Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris, because not only was it a brilliant read, its characters say such brilliant things and tempt us with such delicious recipes. “I ate his liver with some fava beans and a nice chianti.” I ate a lot of liver as a child.

Do you have any advice for budding authors?

I have to be honest, I still feel very much in that category. The only advice I can give is write about something that excites you. Something that you can’t write fast enough about, because your fingers are too slow to keep up with your mind. Write to entertain yourself first – if it makes you scared or cry or laugh – it may make others feel that way too.

Who are your favourite authors?

I could list so many more, but to name a few:
Jo Nesbo – gives more than entertainment, he takes me on a cold murderous journey.
Colin Dexter – I will be in love with Morse forever.
Mark Billingham – really like the perfect imperfections of Tom Thorne.
Val McDermid – A Place of Execution – a must read.
Tess Gerritsen – very happy to tread in her forensic world.
Thomas Harris – love the books. Anthony Hopkins will always be my Dr Hannibal Lecter.
Stieg Larsson – powerful trilogy, though my favourite is The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Martina Cole – instantly recognisable, even if the front cover and her name were torn from a book.

How long did it take you to write Don’t Wake Up?

The first draft I wrote in two weeks in Majorca on a holiday which I have no memory of. I came back exhausted and pale. It then took the best part of a year, in between doing my day job and trying to be present in my life, to write it over many more times. I booked the same holiday, same hotel for the following year and my kids had to prove to me that we had been there before by showing me their previous All Inclusive holiday IDs. That was the same year that I also thought I was a year older!

Are you working on a new novel now?

I am itching to get on with the next story. The characters are impatiently waiting inside my head to tell their tale. I can hear their conversations and see their intentions. I have a plot that is steadily growing each day and soon, very soon I will unleash them.

In three words, can you describe Don’t Wake Up?

Menacing Mind Games


I can’t WAIT to read her next!!

Dont Wake Up Blog Tour Poster.png

Huge thanks to Emily Burns for my review copy and for including me on the blog tour!

3 thoughts on “Don’t Wake Up by Liz Lawler #Don’tWakeUp #Review #BlogTour #Q&A”

Leave a Reply

