Uncategorized

I Know My Name by C.J. Cooke #IKnowMyName #Review

i know my name

I Know My Name

by

C.J. Cooke

 

 

But what if that’s the only thing you can remember?

Komméno Island, Greece: I don’t know where I am, who I am. Help me.

A woman is washed up on a remote Greek island with no recollection of who she is or how she got there.

Potter’s Lane, Twickenham, London: Eloïse Shelley is officially missing.

Lochlan’s wife has vanished into thin air, leaving their toddler and twelve-week-old baby alone. Her money, car and passport are all in the house, with no signs of foul play. Every clue the police turn up means someone has told a lie…

Does a husband ever truly know his wife? Or a wife know her husband? Why is Eloïse missing? Why did she forget?

The truth is found in these pages…

My Review:

I loved I Know My Name. I was gripped from the very first moment I started reading. And, over the course of a few hours at Durdle Door reading, what started as an addictive, intriguing novel quickly grew into an unforgettable one. I Know My Name is a book that will have you reading faster than you can turn the page. A brilliant novel by a very talented author.

A woman washes up on the island of Kommno, with no memory of who she is, where she comes from or even her name. She is taken in by four authors on a writing retreat. Mystery and darkness coalesce as the days pass on the island with the four strangers. And as she slowly begins to remember bits and pieces from her life, those days grow and grow into something akin to a nightmare.

Lochlan Shelley’s wife has disappeared. Eloise abandoned her two young children and left their family home in Twickenham without warning. With no money, passport or means of transportation, it is as if she has vanished into thin air. And  with recent events illuminating aspects from her old life, it would seem there is more to his wife than meets the eye.

 

The woman on the island is obviously Eloise. This is apparent from quite early on in the book. The huge twist comes later and what a shock it is. I Know My Name wasn’t what I expected when I read the blurb. Constantly throughout, there is a sense that we are only being made privy to half of  the truth and soon the remainder will reveal itself.

 

I Know My Name provides a very refreshing take on the psychological thriller. An expertly plotted and beautifully told story that looks at how the mind copes with the darkness that hides away in a person’s past. Emotive and intriguing, this is a book that will utterly consume your time.

 

The characters evoke a wide variety of emotions. They pull you into the ever-thickening plot and only release their hold come the last page. An extremely clever and engaging  psychological thriller!

A dark, shocking novel. I Know My Name will surprise and astound you. Utterly brilliant.

Dark. Intense. Mysterious.

 

If you would like to read I Know My Name here is the link

IMG_2306[1]

Huge thanks to Felicity Denham for my review copy!

5 thoughts on “I Know My Name by C.J. Cooke #IKnowMyName #Review”

  1. Ah, I bought this one yesterday because it sounded so great. I think it’s obvious from the blurb that the missing one is Eloise. Looking forward to reading this one even more now, Ronnie. Good review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

